Hermann Park's historic clubhouse is getting an update
Built in 1933 by Arthur E. Nutter, Hermann Park’s handsome Spanish-style clubhouse (the second such structure for the course, replacing the smaller original clubhouse) served as the Hermann Park Golf Course clubhouse for generations of golfers. In 1999, a new golf clubhouse was built on the corner of Almeda Road and MacGregor Way and the historic clubhouse was converted into office space for Parks administration. The historic clubhouse’s change in function meant that the public no longer had access to the building and over the years the need for a complete restoration continued to be a major goal of the Conservancy.
As part of the Centennial Campaign, the Conservancy begun the planning and fundraising process to restore the clubhouse and in late 2014 selected Curtis & Windham as the lead architects for the project, and in 2015 selected Hermann Park master planners Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Inc. (MVVA) as the landscape architects. The main goals for the renovation are:
To date, the Conservancy has secured nearly $4.7 million toward its $5.8 million goal, including a lead gift made generously by long-time donor and Conservancy board member Tommy W. Lott. Upon dedication, the historic clubhouse will be renamed Lott Hall at Hermann Park.
Lott Hall at Hermann Park will become a rental venue for special events after completion, creating a unique opportunity for the Conservancy to generate operating income, while also allowing Houstonians to create new memories in one of Hermann Park's historic features.
To learn more about naming opportunities and supporting the clubhouse renovation, contact director of development, Meghan Miller at firstname.lastname@example.org or 713-524-5876 ext. 339.
To donate to the historic clubhouse, click here.